Through my eyes

Standard

Lately I’ve been overly fascinated with the art of photography. Back a few months ago I posted my first “photo journey” as well as recap of my first experience with a garden, just to get a feel for what it would be like to incorporate pictures into my blog. Along with writing, photography is something I’ve been playing around with for the past few years or so. Originally, I really didn’t think much of it. There would be times when a certain scene would pop up at just the right second or a “kodak moment” would catch my eye, but it never seemed to be much more than just that. But, thats how it always begins…Slowly I started noticing that words were emerging out of these images. I started learning that so much more could be portrayed that we may not otherwise be able to say with words of our own. I’m finding it to be an amazing form of communication and another way for me to share my journey.
I’ve noticed that where words have been failing to say what is meant, photographs have been filling in the empty spaces for me. But what Im really figuring out is that its actually changing the way I see things all together. What used to look like ordinary everyday objects now appears to tell a story all of its own. I love being able to look through see something totally different than someone else, but also knowing it is still one in the same. I love being able to capture a moment and a feeling all in one, in a language that is universal for all to understand. And I feel that is one of the purest forms of communication there is.
This started out as a place for me to share some of my own thoughts and writings and from day one, I knew it would change- hence “Freedom to Change“. And so far it has done just that……but as far as I can tell, there is nothing saying there is anything wrong with doing so!
So for now, I’m going for what comes naturally to me- and if it happens to be photography, then so be it.
If you follow my blog for my writings and poems, I promise there will be more to come soon. But in the meantime, I hope you keep reading and watching as my journey evolves and the way the world looks through my eyes changes along with it. Theres no telling where it may lead next.

~SMS

20120319-235915.jpg

20120320-000007.jpg

20120320-000025.jpg

20120320-000038.jpg

20120320-000048.jpg

20120320-000100.jpg

20120320-000117.jpg

20120320-000128.jpg

20120320-000151.jpg

20120320-000215.jpg

20120320-000228.jpg

20120320-000248.jpg

20120320-000300.jpg

20120320-000306.jpg

17 responses »

  1. Photos can be a great starting point for an idea. They can be the spark that gets you started when words are escaping you. They also can emphasize your words… as you are learning. Good photos. Love close-ups. Keep it up.
    Barb

    • Exactly Barb, I feel that sometimes we are better able to shape our thoughts when we can “see” what we really mean and it grows from there. Love hearing your thoughts, thanks for replying! πŸ™‚

  2. Ha, in picture #12 all I could think of is….Moses returns, and he’s waiting for Pharoah’s army to get just in the right place and then… with the raise of his staff / ~~~~~~~~~~~ Goodbye Pharoah..
    Beautiful pictures Sheila.

  3. Sheila,
    You are so very amazing even I have a difficult time expressing it. You are so on the journey that you are meant to be on and I Thank God for that–because you are affecting and changing all who see your pictures and hear your words. Your pictures are Definitely and inspiration to all who sees them.
    Love Jackie

    • This means so much Jackie, thank you! Its reassuring to know that I am headed in the right direction, especially when its sometimes hard to see which way it is going. Your words always seem to help things make sense!

  4. …..and you so do “affect and change” all around you Sheila…love your pictures. You have a talent to “see” what others take for granted.

  5. The photos are excellent but the really wonderful part of this blog are the words you use to sum up the reasons why you take, and share, photographs. This more or less describes why artists create art. The art of writing can only take us so far when it comes to describing the sheer joy of being a living sentient being on an amazing planet. Beyond that – we can use our eyes, try to capture what we see, and share those images with others. Thank you for sharing.

    • We will all see things differently and we will all have different reasons for doing so. But when you can bring those differences together, you can do so much more than sum up life; you actually expand it and bring things into a new light and as a whole with one another….. thats the true art and just a small part of what makes life amazing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts~
      SheilaB

Leave a Reply

