Stop making excuses

Standard

I’m still in shock about how fast this year has come and gone. I know I’ve written about this at least 3 times so far, even that Time doesn’t have to “fly”, but every time I turn around another month has gone by and I’m still left with things that I wish I would’ve gotten around to….things I would have liked to changed. For some reason though, talking about it and actually doing it requires two different stages of thought. And as of right now, that seems to be the rut I am stuck in.

So the most logical answer of course, would be to wait until AFTER I’ve escaped that rut to write about it, Right? Right??

When I made that decision, I couldn’t have been more wrong!!

Because by then, its just another thing to add to my list of “Haven’t gotten around-to’s”.

And between now and then, there could be too many “logical” excuses I could make to add it to the list.

Too much work to do, not enough time, something is more important, I haven’t figured it out yet…..

Like I said, those aren’t reasons. They are excuses.

And that’s where the cycle starts over, again; or in my case where it should come to an end.

As much as I would like to provide all the answers, I don’t have them.

As much as I would like to wake up and change the world, it doesn’t happen overnight.

And as much as I can talk, I’m embarressed that my dilemma lately has been that I’ve yet to listen to everything I say.

I’m learning that stopping and starting gets you nowhere, as much as we sometimes hate to admit. And starting OVER every time only sets you farther and farther away from where you began in the first place.

You thought I would have figured that out by now……..

I’m not perfect and I don’t try to be. Life is a journey, not a dictionary you pull out from time to time to look up meanings and answers. Therefore, its not right of me to try and be that dictionary. If life were that simple, there would be no excuses to make in the first place.

I said it before. I will probably say it again. This time, I’m actually listening:

“I can’t write about change when I’m still changing myself, and I can’t write about life when I’m still living it. I can only write about my journey through it, and all the little things that make it worth writing.”

Life is too short to be spent waiting. All answers come when they are supposed to, its not something you can force yourself to figure out. The more time you spend looking for something thats not ready to be found, the less time you spend living in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

