A re-cap of this years gardening “Adventure”

Standard

Being trapped indoors most of last winter, I decided that when spring arrived I wanted to do something outside, something productive and different. So after seeing the many advertisements for gardening stores and the hearing about “Home grown farming” movement that’s been taking off this year, I thought trying my hand green thumb in some red Georgia clay would be the perfect place to start.

 The thought of growing plants….-REAL Plants. Not the cheesy plastic ones that live all year round- really caught my interest. So needless to say, it didn’t take much convincing and I was off……..

 

With seeds in hand……

And to be honest….I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. Or getting into.

 I’ve always loved plants, but have never set aside time to actually tend to them….

 

 Lets just say for a long time, the cheesy plastic ones and I have been very good friends. But this year that changed.

I decided to start small. Really small in fact.  But I didn’t care. Because to me, size didn’t  really matter. It was about getting out, getting started and trying something new. So that’s what I did.

 

 

We did. Always best to have help. 😀

 

 It was trial and error. Finding what works, what doesn’t work. Things you can work around.

*Also known as down on your hands and knees weeding for hours on end.

 and things you cant. – Pesky bugs that find joy munching on anything and everything. 

For the most part, I can say it is something I am really glad I did. Watching plants grow, taking care of and being a part of the whole journey: its something you really don’t understand until you experience it for yourself. 

 

 Seeing the first blooms….never gets old.

 

 One small step for the experienced gardener. One Giant step for amature me.

 

 

And of course seeing the miracles that come along with it make all the work worthwhile.

To anyone out there, reading this, and looking for something new, I wouldn’t ignore the opportunity to do what I did. It may seem like a lot of work. At times it was. But even if you start with a few pots of flowers….They dont ask for much and it really is amazaing watch.

Even Buddy enjoyed it. I think.

 

 *pumpkin – for the sole purpose of taking pictures.

I did say I enjoyed this adventure. For the most part. It was still sad to see things come to an end.

 

But the journey outweighs the end……

And for me, adds all the more reason to do it again next year.

8 responses »

  1. Besides being amazed, envious and totally jealous……I so admire your feelings of acomplishment, so rightfully earned. Tending to this most wonderful garden and learning the beauty that can only come from nature itself and the satisfaction you so honestly deserve …comes to so few. Wonderfull job girlfriend!

  2. Pingback: Mountain Jewels: A local Journey « Freedom to Change

  3. Pingback: Through my eyes « Freedom to Change

Leave a Reply

