What are we voting for?

Standard

What are we voting for?

I don’t talk much about politics or the economy or current events going on in the world. I know some people think that because I’m not old enough to vote, todays election doesn’t directly affect me or is anything that I should even be concerned with. To be honest, until 4 years ago, its not something I ever thought concerned me and there are many reasons why i’ve never liked thinking about it. I don’t like that people feel divided by who’s a democrat and who’s a republican. I don’t believe anyone should be defined by their “social class” or income level. And I don’t agree that someone can make decisions without keeping in mind the best interest of us as people. There are a lot of things I do not like, and I’m sure there are many subjects in which many Americans do not agree with. But I’m not writing this to talk about my opinion or to argue with whats right and whats wrong. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We have our beliefs. We have our reasons. We have Different goals, different outlooks, different everything. That isn’t what matters. I know I’m only 16, but please hear me out. there are a lot of things I don’t understand and I may be way out of line even writing this. The reason I ask, “What are we voting for”, is because in the past 4 years I think a lot of people have forgotten the answer to that question. We may be different but the one thing we do need to agree on is keeping who we are and who we stand for the same. Isn’t that what matters? Everyone has had a difficult year or past few years and in the process, i’ve watched many people change because of that. Things in our government have changed. Our country has changed. We are Americans, we live in the land of the free but why does it feel like we are so divided? We are supposed to help one another. We are one Nation under God. If we can’t hold true to that, then What do we stand for?
To those of you who are able to go out and vote today, I hope you think about that.

Sheila Marie

7 responses »

  1. Mutual respect is a difficult thing, emotions get in the way totally overwhelming “common sense” and time for reflection. Those “elements” you mentioned (income, social class, politics, etc.) has driven “humanity” crazy for quite a while. It takes “generations” to move the “humanity ball” forward just a little bit, but we’re doing ok. Don’t let it go to your head… you’re on the right path.

  2. You are so right. Things are all out of control… the money, the lies, the intense emotions. I hope we can move beyond this campaign. There will be bitterness on one side. I also hope Congress learned that the people were very unhappy with them this past year. They have to learn to listen to each other… and to remember why they were elected and who elected them. They are supposed to be serving the people, not some ideology. OK… no more ranting. I have been doing it a lot the past week.

    • We have to let go of those bitter feelings and replace them with positive reinforcement about our future. This is only now and the present. When we can reassure ourselves of that, the possibilities are limitless to what we can change. I only pray that we can bring this much needed light into a time like right now when we all need it the most.

      • My dear girl…are you sure you are sixteen?

        I have to say, I like what you said. All of it.

        Today when I was asked “who did you vote for?” I simply smiled and said “That is personal for me.”
        I grew up in a family where politics and religion could change family fun with one comment. So for me, it is private and it is about “our country” being “one nation under GOD”.

        So thank you for reminding others what it is about.

      • Its a personal choice and a personal decision and what ever happens will happen because it is supposed to. Despite candidates and politics and policies…we are still the people, and we may be different but we can still act as one under one nation.

  3. Pingback: No such thing as wrong opinions – just other peoples « Geek Ergo Sum

  4. Pingback: No such thing as wrong opinions - just other peoples - Geek Ergo Sum

Leave a Reply

