We are the people

Standard

I know its been a while…but I wanted to share a story with you guys. I wrote and posted this on my Facebook page the other day, but afterwards decided it would be a good idea to move over here. Maybe it will bring with it a bit of inspiration.

I saw this happen at a local gas station and felt strongly enough to write the story that goes along with it.

The world needs more people like this, and we need to be the ones to make that happen.

******There are good people in this world*****
This afternoon I pulled into a gas station and without taking much notice to anything else, I headed inside the store to pay for my fuel. The place was busy as usual. People were coming and going from all different directions. Rushing here, late for there; completely consumed in their next whereabouts and oblivious to the life that was taking place around them. I really didn’t think much of it. So I walked up, handed my money to the cashier, and continued on my way. Perhaps even I had been involved in my own thoughts as well, but as I walked out the door I head a voice that caught me by surprise.
“What’s wrong with your truck, ma’m?” I head a gentleman say. His strong southern accent adding even more to my curiosity. I turned around to see where the question had come from and to whom it was being directed. Then to my left I saw the red Chevrolet pick-up he must have been referring to in third parking space down. Sure enough, the truck sat there with its hood propped open in a state of disrepair, something I’d completely missed when I first walked by. The man was dressed in a military uniform, either a soldier from the army or other form of special services – I’m not sure which. He was crouched down and it wasn’t until then that I noticed the woman beneath the vehicle, trying to figure out the cause of her problems. She had spread her coat down on the ground under the passenger side door and managed to crawl to the area she thought was causing trouble.
She spoke in a quiet voice, so I didn’t catch her response if she did say what the issue was. He reached out and offered her a hand up off the ground. She showed him the parts and tools she had in the back of her truck, but by then I had made my way back to the pump where my car was parked. From there I was still able to watch all that was going on.
“If you don’t mind, I heard him say, I think I might be able to help.”
She shook her head, thankful for any assistance the young man could offer.
“Good. He said. Give me one minute, I’ll be right back.” and he headed off back to his car.
I tried to think of what I could have done to help, but I stood there clueless. I knew nothing of cars and the very little I did know seemed irrelevant. I did however, continue to watch the people that came and went right past the woman and her truck. Not one of them stopped, but what happened next had to be one of the most generous things I have seen someone do in quite a long time.
The man made his way across the parking lot carrying what appeared to be a tool, perhaps even a spare oil filter he had gotten out of his car. How he would have happened to have the proper part she needed, I do not know. Miracles happen when we least expect them.
“Would you mind if I had a look?” he said. But without hesitation, he leaped down beneath the truck and went to work with the tools and new contraption he had on hand.
The woman stood there in amazement. Who would be willing to take the time to do such a thing?
I couldn’t help but smile, having watched the whole scene happen right before me. They continued to work, but by the time I left the expression on the woman’s face appeared much more hopeful than only the few short moments before.
I cant decide whether I was more amazed or grateful to see that there are still people out there willing to help a random strange in need. And a gentleman nonetheless who has devoted his own life to serving our country. How many people had walked by before he came along? Would anyone have stopped if he hadn’t? If we have the ability to help someone, shouldn’t there be no question in mind that we would?
Its disheartening to think that most people wouldn’t, but seeing this reassured me that there are in fact good people in this world. More importantly though, is that we all have that we all have the ability to make those difference if only we take the time to do so.

20120812-223257.jpg

One random act of kindness.
No one is ever too busy for that.
Someone who spends his time protecting us and our country wasn’t, so neither are we.

Thank you to all of our troops, the men and woman of our military and everyone else in the special forces. God bless you.

~Sheila Marie

10 responses »

    • That means so much to me, Russ. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for wanting to share this. I really do hope its a message that reaches out and inspires others.

      ~Sheila Marie

  1. What a wonderful and uplifting post! What would the world be like if everyone did a random act of kindness every day. God bless those who do, for they are the example we should all be following. Thank you so much! :)

Leave a Reply

